Skip to main content

Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council

The Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council is the body that recommends places in Illinois to the National Register of Historic Places. It also advises the State Historic Preservation Office on matters pertaining to historic preservation. The Council meets three times a year and is comprised of 15 members. There are at a minimum, three historians, three architectural historians, or architects with a preservation background, and three archaeologists. The remaining six members have to have a preservation interest and are drawn from supporting fields, such as, but not limited to planning, law, local government, and historical geography. Lastly, a representative from both the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, and Illinois State Museum serve on the Council in an advisory capacity as non-voting members.


Janine Farrell, Architectural Historian (2022-2024) CHAIR

Chelsea Coates, Archaeologist (2023-2025)

Devin Hunter, Historian (2023-2025)

Rebecca Graff, Archaeologist (2022-2024)

Victoria Granacki, Preservation Advocate (2024-2026)

Kandalyn Hahn, Preservation Advocate (2023-2025)

Charles Pipal, Architect (2024-2026)

Lauren Thompson, Historian (2024-2026)

Michael Bortel, Preservation Advocate (2022-2024)

Kimberly Smith, Preservation Advocate (2022-2024)

Rachel Hitzmann, Preservation Advocate (2023-2025)

Susan Trexler, Architectural Historian (2024-2026)

Susan Kooiman, Archaeologist (2023-2025)

Pamela Lange, Historian (2022-2024)

Jenn Edginton -  Illinois State Museum​ (non-voting)

Christina Shutt, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum (non-voting)

2024 IHSAC Meeting Dates:

February 23 (online), June 28 (online), October 25 (Springfield)


 Meeting Presentation Rules

Properties to be considered on June 28, 2024

Additional Meeting Materials

Contact Andrew Heckenkamp to request approved minutes for past meetings: