ILLINOIS HISTORIC SITES ADVISORY COUNCIL

Illinois State Historic Preservation Office -- Department of Natural Resources Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library 212 N. Jefferson Foundation Hall, Springfield

February 28, 2020

Presiding: Jayne Bernhard, Chair

Council Members Present:

Ayla Martine Amadio
Taylor Long
Pam Hein
Christopher Stratton
Norm Moline
Devin Hunter

Erica Ruggiero Jenny Barker-Devine Adam Smith Christopher Fye Michael Smith

Non-Voting Council Members Present:

Staff Members Present:

Andrew Heckenkamp
Amy Hathaway
Shanta Thoele
Justin Smock
Anna Margaret Borntrager

Rita Baker Jon Pressley Tina Blankenship Darius Bryjka Bob Appleman

Guests:

<u> </u>	
Tim Scovic	Valeria Baird
Pam Milliron	Todd Milliron
Johanne Byram	Lisa Wolanevich
Jonathan Rangel	Diana Iversen
Ted Iversen	Frank Butterfield
Stephen Brown	

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 12:30 P.M. Roll was taken. Benson and Purvis were absent.

READING OF THE MINUTES

The minutes were approved, with changes Hathaway will make.

CHAIR REPORT

Chair Bernhard welcomed everyone to the Council meeting and went over the procedures for the day. Bernhard asked for a motion to nominate a vice-chair. Hein recommended Adam Smith. **? seconded.** Passes.

STAFF REPORT

Heckenkamp gave the staff report. Heckenkamp recognized staff Baker, Smock (intern), Pressley, Blankenship, and Appleman. Hathaway gave a eulogy for IHSAC board member Raymond Terry Tatum, who passed away on January 31,2020, and announced the birth of Callan Andrew Heckenkamp on February 5, 2020.

NATIONAL REGISTER OF HISTORIC PLACES

<u>LISTINGS</u>

Chicago Golf Club (Wheaton)

The presentation was given by Tim Scovic. Bernhard requested information regarding the original use and the current use of each building (i.e. half-way house and casino). Smith explained that dance halls and event spaces are called casinos. Smith would like more architectural descriptions of the newer contributing buildings and questioned the period of significance. Ruggiero requested including a map of the buildings numbered to the descriptions in section 7.

Motion to recommend was made by Moline and seconded by A. Smith. Motion carried.

Tiedemann House (O'Fallon)

The presentation was given by Hathaway. Hathaway acknowledged that council members had requested more information on O'Fallon history and what brought the family here. Moline has seen the home and it is gorgeous. Ruggiero requested one or two more sentences on Eastlake architecture. Ruggiero asked the owner Stephen Brown (in the audience) whether the cistern was historic. Brown confirmed it was. Ruggiero would like to see it labeled as contributing even though it is underground.

Motion to recommend was made by Hein and seconded by Stratton. Motion carried.

Kendall County Jail (Yorkville)

The presentation was given by Johanne Byram. Bernhard enjoyed reading the evolution of the jail, but believed the nomination was lacking context of the jail within the evolution of the jail system at the county level. Moline inquired whether the foundation is really Joliet limestone, which is actually dolomite. Byram confirmed that the county documents referred to it as Joliet limestone. Moline asked for clarification between the use of Landmarks Preservation of Illinois and Landmarks Illinois. Byram explained that the source was a newspaper from 2003 and likely meant Landmarks Preservation Council of Illinois, which was the name of Landmarks Illinois at that time. Smith asked why only Criterion A was used as an area of significance and if only A is the criteria, why the garage is not contributing. Heckenkamp explained that the integrity was very poor but the National Park Service may determine it contributing. Heckenkamp also apologized for the somewhat incomplete nomination and explained that the applicants could not get into the building for photographs until the last minute. Fye asked about the arched ceiling work. Byram explained that the contractor was to build the box and the jail company added those features. Frank Butterfield with Landmarks Illinois spoke on behalf of the nomination.

Motion to recommend was made by Stratton and seconded by Long. Motion carried.

Heckenkamp apologized for the somewhat incomplete nomination and explained that it had already been delayed for an extended period of time. He will work with the applicants to incorporate additions/changes before sending it on to the National Park Service.

Glenwood School (Cissna vicinity)

Bernhard would like clarification of the location as the township and area had several names. Moline asked whether a sentence early on the document giving the county location (i.e. County bordering Indiana in east central Illinois) could be added. Ruggiero and Hathaway discussed state requirements of school buildings. Ruggiero offered to

send more sources on the topic. Fye asked if this was the earliest schoolhouse nominated. Hathaway explained that it was not the earliest or latest, but unlike most she had seen, this had not been modified according to statute.

Motion to recommend was made by Long and seconded by Fye. Long mentioned that Normal had just lost a 1917 one built to the state standards and is now a residence.

The meeting adjourned at 1:59 P.M. NEXT MEETING: June 26^{th} in Springfield at the OSC.